Alt image
Empty Pockets
Andy and Dave
Empty Pockets was formed around vocalist and frontman Phil Wallace during the early 1980s and began touring and club work as 'Phil Wallace and Empty Pockets'. The era was dominated by the electronic keyboard music of the time and the 'Empty Pockets' brand provided an alternative approach and became very popular with it's guitar and vocal led country influenced music. The band cut it's first recording during 1983 featuring a collaboration with Andy King on acoustic guitar and banjo and John Howe on bass guitar and backing vocal.

By the mid '80s a new Empty Pockets line-up featured three former members of the popular Ammanford based group 'Country Line Special' - namely Steve Jones on bass guitar, Arwel 'Jynx' Jenkins on drums and backing vocal and Dave Williams on guitar and backing vocal with Phil Wallace again at the helm and augmented by Andy King on guitar and backing vocal on various tours. This line-up went on to play a number of prestigious music events including several appearances at the 'Best of British' country music events at Worthing Pavillion and the Wembley Conference Centre as well as playing at many festivals held across the country at the various venues of the day.
Dave And Andy
Further line-up changes occurred with Phil Wallace and Dave Williams continuing and introducing Andy King on a permanent basis and featuring John 'Pugwash' Weathers on drums, David Bell on bass guitar and Pete Williams on keyboards for tours and larger gigs. This line-up also recorded at Sycamore Studios (Peter King's) picking up very favourable reviews.
During the late '80s various band members became committed to other ongoing projects and Empty Pockets became an acoustic based duo with Phil Wallace and Andy King continuing the Empty Pockets name and continuing to tour nationwide.

Phil's health deteriorated, and as he became progressively unwell he eventually had to rely on residential care and sadly passed away during the summer of 2014.
While Dave continues to gig with 'Bus Stop', and Andy with 'Afternoon in Paris', both decided to continue with the Empty Pockets name and embark on a new album of original songs.
A new team was assembled for this album and included Paul Smith on drums, Frank Hughes on bass guitar and Peter King on Hammond organ, Fender Rhodes and Wurlitzer pianos.
The cd album 'Empty Pockets' is now available and features nine original songs plus one by Tom Petty. We hope that the album will generate and sustain enough interest in the band to justify yet another journey on the road that will hopefully lead us to a venue near you, and enable us to share our music and contribute to a good and memorable night out.

Thank you for your ongoing support
Dave Williams & Andy King
A Thing About You A Thing About You
Ocean's Floor Ocean's Floor
The Receiver The Receiver
Wood Wire And Voice Wood Wire & Voice
Dave Williams

Dave Williams

Andy King

Andy King

Alt image
Album Cover

'Empty Pockets' CD Cover